SEI — Social Entrepreneurship Index
Beyond Europe/Sub-Saharan Africa

Senegal

Sub-Saharan Africa · indicative score on the European method and goalposts, not ranked with the 45 · statistics to 2024–25 · policy framework at end-2025

58.7composite, 0–100 (indicative)
22 / 46rank if added to the 45 European countries
35 / 40indicators with data
Economic60.7Legal66.2Financial41.7Institutional51.0Political73.8
Senegal45-country average

Dimensions

DimensionScore45 meanEU-27Indicators
Political73.859.570.07 / 7
Economic60.758.363.48 / 13
Legal66.258.366.07 / 7
Institutional51.059.461.810 / 10
Financial41.752.462.33 / 3
Composite58.757.664.735 / 40

Indicators = with data for this country / scored for the 45.

What limits this score

  • Not covered. No comparable source covers severe material and social deprivation (2.1.1), at risk of poverty or social exclusion (AROPE) (2.1.2), firm birth rate (2.2.2), firm death rate (2.2.3) and survival rate of new enterprises (2.2.4) for this country; they are left out of their sub-dimensions.
  • Beyond the European range. Goalposts are the 5th and 95th percentiles of the European panel, so values outside it are capped at 0 or 100: Investment (gross fixed capital formation) (above the European range, scored 100); Early-stage entrepreneurial activity (TEA) (above the European range, scored 100); Youth unemployment rate (15–24) (below the European range, scored 100); Tertiary education enrolment (gross ratio) (below the European range, scored 0); Unemployment rate (below the European range, scored 100); Young people not in employment, education or training (NEET) (above the European range, scored 0). Differences beyond the range do not show.
  • EU funds (5.1.1) are read as EU external-action funding, as for the Western Balkans and the Eastern Partnership.
  • Ease of getting credit (2.2.6) uses the World Bank Doing Business 2020 score behind the Global Innovation Index indicator.

Social-enterprise policy and legal framework, end-2025

SE strategy / action plan 1.2.1
S1100S267S3100S467S533
Criteria and evidence
  • S1 · Status: 100 (adopted and in force on 31 Dec 2025)
    The LPSD for microfinance and the SSE 2021-2025, validated and initialled on 2 Apr 2021 by the SSE and Economy ministers, covered 2025, with a successor letter in preparation: 'adopted and in force on 31 Dec 2025'. · source 1
  • S2 · Dedication: 67 (SE chapter or pillar with measures in an adopted broader strategy, or dedicated regional strategies only)
    The instrument is a joint sector policy letter for microfinance and the SSE, not a stand-alone SSE strategy (a dedicated national SSE strategy was still being drafted on 30 Dec 2025): 'SE chapter or pillar with measures in a broader national strategy'. · source 1
  • S3 · Operational content: 100 (measures with responsible bodies, quantified targets and a budget)
    The policy is operationalised through budget programme 'Promotion de l'ESS' (DPPD) with objectives, responsible directorates (DEESS, DSSE), quantified indicator targets and annual budgets of FCFA 622-641 million: 'measures with responsible bodies, quantified targets and a budget'. · source 1
  • S4 · Monitoring: 67 (monitoring body or indicator set in place)
    The DPPD sets an indicator set, a steering committee and quarterly and annual performance reporting; no published LPSD progress or evaluation report was found: 'monitoring body or indicator set in place'. · source 1
  • S5 · Participation of SE organisations: 33 (public consultation only, or a general statement that stakeholders took part)
    The LPSD for microfinance and the SSE 2021-2025 was drafted from a sector diagnosis and validated at a national workshop (reported 2 Apr 2021) of about 50 participants from the ministry's structures and its 'partenaires attitrés', then validated and initialled by the two ministers; no drafting group or monitoring body naming SSE organisations was found (SSE actors attend the Cadre de concertation, which reviews the new SSE strategy, not the LPSD): 'public consultation only, or a general statement that stakeholders took part'. · source 1
73.3
Institutional structure & dialogue 1.2.2
I1100I2100I3100I4100
Criteria and evidence
  • I1 · Lead responsibility: 100 (a dedicated unit, directorate or agency for SE)
    Ministry of Microfinance and SSE with a Direction de l'Encadrement de l'ESS (DEESS): 'a dedicated unit, directorate or agency for SE'. · source 1
  • I2 · Breadth of mandate: 100 (the social economy / SE broadly)
    The mandate covers the whole SSE: cooperatives and mutuals, associations, social enterprises and popular-economy actors (Law 2021-28 Art. 3): 'the social economy / SE broadly'. · source 1
  • I3 · Consultative body with SE organisations: 100 (set up and met in 2024–2025 (dated record))
    Cadre de concertation de l ESS held its second annual session on 30 Dec 2025 (dated record) · source 1
  • I4 · Inter-ministerial coordination: 100 (standing mechanism that met in 2024–2025)
    An Interministerial Council on the SSE chaired by the Prime Minister on 23 May 2025 adopted 17 measures for some 25 ministries, with follow-up by the Secretary-General of Government: 'in place and met in 2024-2025'. · source 1
100.0
Social clauses in public procurement 2.3.2
P1100P2100P30P40
Criteria and evidence
  • P1 · Legal basis: 100 (reservation or preference explicitly for SE/SSE entities (e.g. Directive 2014/24 Art. 77 transposed, a national SSE quota))
    The arrêté of 5 Jul 2024, under arts. 4.30 and 6 of the Public Procurement Code (Decree 2022-2295), reserves contracts to SSE actors and national SMEs: 'reservation or preference explicitly for SE/SSE entities (... national SSE quotas)'. · source 1
  • P2 · National policy push: 100 (national plan or rule with a target or quota for social clauses or the SE share)
    The same arrêté sets a minimum annual quota of 5% of contract value (3% for SSE actors and national SMEs, 2% for women-led SMEs): 'national plan or rule with a target or quota for social clauses or SE share'. · source 1
  • P3 · Evidence of use: 0 (none)
    No national figures or reported cases of contracts awarded to SSE actors under the 2024 reservation were found; at the first ministry-ARCOP workshop on SSE access to public procurement (29 Jan 2026) the ARCOP Director-General cited 'un manque de formation et d'organisation' and the minister gave only the reserved share (5%), with no number or value of contracts awarded: 'none'. · source 1
  • P4 · Capacity support: 0 (none)
    The first ministry-ARCOP training of SSE actors on access to public procurement found opened on 29 Jan 2026, after the reference date; the January 2026 report mentions that ARCOP 'has produced a guide and set up a technical assistance office' to help actors prepare bids, without a date or a link to reserved contracts; nothing documented for 2021-2025: 'none'. Possible 67 if the ARCOP assistance office is shown to predate 31 Dec 2025 and to cover the reservation. · source 1
50.0
Official SE definition 3.1
D1100D2100
Criteria and evidence
  • D1 · Where defined: 100 (in law)
    Law 2021-28 of 15 Jun 2021, Art. 2, defines the SSE and the social enterprise: 'in law'. · source 1
  • D2 · Content (social aim; participatory governance; limits on profit distribution): 100 (all three)
    Art. 2 defines the SSE by its social or environmental purpose and by 'lucrativité limitée' (most profits reinvested); Art. 6 binds approved actors to the cooperative principles of Art. 5 ('pouvoir démocratique') and to accountability of mandataries to members: 'all three'. · source 1
100.0
Legal recognition of SEs 3.2.1 · level 2 of 3
Loi n° 2021-28 du 15 juin 2021 d'orientation relative à l'économie sociale et solidaire (JO n° 7450, 21 August 2021) · sources 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
L1100L2100L3100L4100L50
Criteria and evidence
  • L1 · Adoption stage: 100 (in force)
  • L2 · Scope: 100 (general: SE broadly, including a status open to several legal forms or any purpose)
  • L3 · Implementing rules: 100 (all adopted, or none required)
    Art. 50 refers implementation to decree (with specific decrees on the National Council, Fichier/registers, agrément withdrawal, federations, asset transfer; Art. 16 arrêté on the consultation framework). Décret n° 2022-1057 du 3 mai 2022 portant application de la loi n° 2021-28 (JO n° 7526, 7 May 2022) adopted; the agrément procedure has run on it since 2023. Whether the Art. 16 ministerial order exists was not verified.
  • L4 · Status or register: 100 (operating, entities recognised)
    Agrément 'Économie sociale et solidaire' issued by the minister (Art. 17): first agréments April 2023; 566 issued by 30 October 2025 (ministry presentation at GSEF Bordeaux). The Fichier national (Art. 20) was still to be established in March 2026.
  • L5 · Bodies foreseen by the law: 0 (foreseen, not set up, or law not in force)
    Conseil national de l'ESS chaired by the President (Arts 13-15): never convened by end-2025 (May 2025 interministerial council asked to accelerate it; in March 2026 the President asked for its first session; still being prepared in September 2026). The Cadre de concertation chaired by the minister (Art. 16) operates (a 2026 session reported). The national observatory was still being structured in October 2025.
80.0
SE support ecosystem 4.3.6
E1100E267E367E433E5100
Criteria and evidence
  • E1 · National programme: 100 (national programme dedicated to SE, run by government or a public agency)
    The Ministry of Microfinance and SSE runs a national SSE support system presented at GSEF Bordeaux (30 Oct 2025): SSE incubators 'installés dans les pôles territoriaux', Coopératives Productives Solidaires as 'le modèle sénégalais d'ancrage territorial', 566 SSE agréments, FAESS financing; the CPS programme (1,000 cooperatives in 2025, about five per commune, 3,000 by 2027) was launched by the Prime Minister: 'national programme dedicated to SE, run by government or a public agency'. Judgement call: the Primature states the CPS programme is 'financé par la coopération italienne pour un montant de plus de 2,5 milliards'; if the CPS programme alone is scored, 'a government-run SE programme funded mainly by donors' (67). · source 1
  • E2 · Territorial coverage: 67 (several regions)
    Incubators are 'installés dans les pôles territoriaux' (number and poles not given) and CPS activity is documented in more than one region (launch and FAESS-financed cooperatives in Koumpentoum, Tambacounda), while regional and departmental SSE services were only decided in May 2025 and no count of regions reached by end-2025 was published: 'several regions'. · source 1 · low confidence
  • E3 · Public funding of support: 67 (mixed national and EU/donor)
    State budget (SSE programme, FAESS) plus donor programmes (PROGRESS, ILO FORC'ESS): 'mixed national and EU/donor'. · source 1
  • E4 · Continuity: 33 (under two years)
    Business-development offer (incubators, CPS) started 2024-2025: under two years · source 1
  • E5 · Range of services: 100 (three or more)
    Incubation, finance (FAESS), registration (agrement), market access (CPS) · source 1
73.3
EU funds mobilised for SE 5.1.1
F10F233F333F40
Criteria and evidence
  • F1 · Programming: 0 (SE not mentioned)
    F1 refers to the EU's MIP for Senegal 2021-2027 (C(2021)9362, EUR 222 m). The EC country page that links the MIP describes EU support in energy, agri-food and fisheries, transport, water, economic development and the private sector (youth and women entrepreneurship, MSMEs), migration, health, education and security, with no mention of the SSE, cooperatives or social entrepreneurship: 'SE not mentioned'. The MIP annex itself could not be opened. · source 1
  • F2 · Calls and instruments: 33 (general calls whose themes name social economy or social entrepreneurship, or documented SE grantees in general calls)
    The EU-funded West Africa Sustainable Ocean Programme (WASOP, EUR 59 m, 13 coastal countries including Senegal) launched its restricted call 'Économie bleue durable en Afrique de l'Ouest' on 5 Dec 2025 (EUR 10 m, implemented by Expertise France; concept notes due 30 Jan 2026), whose call document lists 'acteurs de l'économie sociale et solidaire' and cooperatives among priority private-sector target groups; the EU Delegation's national CSO call of 20 Dec 2022 (EuropeAid/176131) targeted socio-economic development of women, youth and territories without naming the SSE: 'general calls whose themes name social economy'. · source 1
  • F3 · Channel: 33 (civil-society grants only)
    The only EU funding route found that names SSE actors is the WASOP grant call, open to non-profit lead applicants (NGOs, foundations, associations, non-profit networks) with no government co-partner: 'via civil-society grants only'. · source 1
  • F4 · Evidence of take-up: 0 (none)
    The WASOP call opened on 5 Dec 2025 with a deadline in 2026, so no SE take-up existed by 31 Dec 2025; no other EU-funded SSE beneficiaries were found (the main external SSE programmes are Italian (PROGRESS) and ILO (FORC'ESS)): 'none'. · source 1
16.7
Dedicated national funding 5.2.2
N1100N267N3100N4100
Criteria and evidence
  • N1 · Dedicated line: 100 (dedicated line for SE broadly)
    The Fonds d'appui à l'ESS, a state-funded line under programme 'Promotion de l'ESS' (FCFA 500 million a year in the DPPD), serves SSE organisations broadly: 'dedicated line for SE broadly'. · source 1
  • N2 · Instrument types: 67 (two types)
    The first FAESS batch (8 Dec 2025) gave 'un financement global' of FCFA 50 m, 'soit 2,5 millions FCFA par coopérative' (grant or loan not stated), and equipment worth FCFA 250 m was 'octroyé aux coopératives sous forme de crédit-bail' (provider not stated): 'two types' (financing plus leasing). Nature of the financing and whether the leasing sits in the FAESS line are unconfirmed. · source 1 · low confidence
  • N3 · Continuity: 100 (five years or more)
    Budgeted every year since 2019 and in the 2026 budget · source 1
  • N4 · Execution: 100 (amounts or beneficiary numbers published for 2024 or 2025)
    Published on 9 Dec 2025: FCFA 50 million to 20 Coopératives productives solidaires (FCFA 2.5 million each), the first FAESS batch: 'disbursement data (amounts or beneficiaries) published for 2024 or 2025'. · source 1
91.7

Policy composite 73.1 of 100 (mean of the eight indicators), coded on the same criteria as the 45.

Cite this profile

Social Entrepreneurship Observatory & SENIC. (2026). Senegal: SEI 2026 indicative country profile (provisional edition, version 0.9.4). Social Entrepreneurship Index. https://seindex.org/beyond-europe/senegal/